Soccer-Referee admits to mistake with Italy goal (Reuters)

RIO DE JANEIRO, June 23 (Reuters) – A referee has admitted to making a mistake in awarding Italy’s second goal during their 4-2 defeat to Brazil at the Confederations Cup, FIFA said on Sunday. Giorgio Chiellini’s goal was allowed to stand even though referee Ravshan Irmatov appeared to have blown for a penalty in Italy’s favour seconds earlier. Brazil angrily protested the goal, which made the score 3-2 to Brazil and brought Italy back into the match. The Uzbek official later confirmed he had whistled for a penalty, FIFA said. …

You must be logged in to post a comment Login