Jump to content

Twitter


JawD
 Share

Recommended Posts

  • 1 month later...
Micro-blogging service Twitter remains the preserve of a few, despite the hype surrounding it, according to research.

 

Just 10% of Twitter users generate more than 90% of the content, a Harvard study of 300,000 users found.

 

Estimates suggest it now has more than 10 million users and is growing faster than any other social network.

 

However, the Harvard team found that more than half of all people using Twitter updated their page less than once every 74 days.

 

And most people only ever "tweet" once during their lifetime, the researchers found.

 

"Based on the numbers, Twitter is certainly not a service where everyone who has seen it has instantly loved it," said Bill Heil, a graduate from Harvard Business School who carried out the work.

 

On a typical online social network, he said, the top 10% of users accounted for 30% of all production.

 

"This implies that Twitter's resembles more of a one-way, one-to-many publishing service more than a two-way, peer-to-peer communication network," the team wrote in a blog post.

 

Silent crowds

 

Twitter is a social networking website where people can post messages of up to 140 characters - known as tweets - that can be seen by other users who subscribe to their feed.

 

Its growth has been described as "explosive" and it has become the poster child of social networking sites, particularly among media companies.

 

 

Twitter is a broadcast medium rather than an intimate conversation with friends

-Bill Heil

 

Recent figures from research firm Nielsen Online show that visitors to the site increased by 1,382%, from 475,000 to seven million, between February 2008 and February 2009. It is thought to have grown beyond 10 million in the past 4 months.

 

By comparison, Facebook - one of the most popular social networking sites by number of visitors - has 200 million active users and grew by 228% during the same period.

 

Research by Nielsen also suggests that many people give the service a try, but rarely or never return.

 

Earlier this year, the firm found that more than 60% of US Twitter users failed to return the following month.

 

"The Harvard data says very, very few people tweet and the Nielsen data says very, very few people listen consistently," Mr Heil told BBC News.

 

'Super user'

 

The Harvard study took a snapshot of 300,542 users in May 2009. As well as usage patterns it looked in detail at gender differences.

 

For example, it found that men had 15% more followers than women despite there being slightly more females users of Twitter than males.

 

It also showed that an average man was almost twice as likely to follow another man than a woman, despite the reverse being true on other social networks.

 

"The sort of content that drives men to look at women on other social networks does not exist on Twitter," said Mr Heil.

 

"By that I mean pictures, extended articles and biographical information."

 

However, said Mr Heil, the most striking result was that so few people used the service to publish information, preferring instead to be passive consumers.

 

For example, the median number of lifetime tweets per user is one. :aye:

 

"Twitter is a broadcast medium rather than an intimate conversation with friends," he said.

 

"It looks like a few people are creating content for a few people to read and share."

 

Some "super users" can have thousands or even hundreds of thousands of followers.

 

Currently, the most popular person to follow on Twitter is the movie star Ashton Kutcher who has more than two million followers.

 

However, the service bills itself as a way to "communicate and stay connected" with "friends, family and co-workers".

 

"The Twitter management need to decide if this is a problem," said Mr Heil.

 

"And if they decide it is, how they will tweak Twitter to become more acceptable to the average user?"

 

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/8089508.stm

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...
Any good/interesting people/celebs to follow?

 

Created my account today and basically spent all evening signing up to updates from either sports stars, poker players or porn stars.

 

 

Same as TR , signed up but never used it ...I would imagine the tweets from porn stars would be quite interesting :baby:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Any good/interesting people/celebs to follow?

 

Created my account today and basically spent all evening signing up to updates from either sports stars, poker players or porn stars.

 

 

TV and Entertainment:

 

Jon Favreau - @Jon_Favreau

Rose McGowan - @mcgowanrose

Hugh Jackman - @RealHughJackman

Disney•Pixar - @DisneyPixar

Lionsgate Movies - @lionsgatemovies

Warner Bros Pictures - @wbpictures

Focus Features - @FocusFeatures

Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer - @MGM_Studios

Fox Searchlight - @foxsearchlight

Sony Pictures - @SonyPictures

Miramax Films - @MiramaxFilms

Universal Pictures - @UniversalPics

David Lynch - @DAVID_LYNCH

Noel Clarke - @NoelClarke

Jessica-Jane Clement (The Real Hustle) - @MisJessicaJane

R Paul Wilson (The Real Hustle) - @rpaulwilson

Alexis Conran (The Real Hustle) - @alexisconran

Empire Magazine - @empiremagazine

Cracked.com - @cracked

Slash Film - @slashfilm

BBC Entertainment News Team - @BBCEntsTeam

Ashton Kutcher - @aplusk

Demi Moore - @mrskutcher

Rachel Bilson (from The OC) - @rachel_bilson

Jonah Hill - @OfficialJonah

RainnWilson - @rainnwilson

nick frost - @nickjfrost

emma watson - @mwtsnx

michael sheen - @michaelsheen

Ben Miller - @bennylicious

Kevin Spacey - @KevinSpacey

Stephen Spielberg - @MrSpielberg

Carson Daly - @carsonjdaly

Matt from Heroes -@greggrunberg

Kevin Smith - @ThatKevinSmith

Jason Mewes - @JayMewes

Lisa Rogers - @RogersMcGazza

Matt Walsh - mattwalshcv

Keith from The Office - @ewenmacintosh

Rob Llewelyn from Red Dwarf/Scrapheap Challenge - @bobbyllew

Jeremy Piven - @jeremypiven

Elizabeth Banks @ElizabethBanks

Nathan Fillion - @NathanFillion

Eliza Dushku - @ElizaPatricia

Alyson Hannigan - @alydenisof

Shannon Elizabeth - @ShannonElizab

Emmy Rossum - @emmyrossum

Lauren Conrad (The Hills) - @LaurenConrad

Mario Lopez (AC Slater from Saved By The Bell/TV Presenter) - @MarioLopezExtra

Chris Fountain (Justin from Hollyoaks) - @fountain1987

Kristen Bell - @IMKristenBell

Phillip Schofield - @Schofe

Fearne Cotton - @fearnecotton

Alex Zane - @alex_zane

Danny Wallace - @misterwallace

Phil Jupitus - @jupitusphillip

Gregg Wallace - @puddingface

 

Football related:

 

The Football Ramble - @FootballRamble

Football Trivia - @askthegaffer

Sky Sports News - @SkySportsNews

bbc sport updates - @bbcsport

Henry Winter, Telegraph football journo - @henrywinter

Shay Given - @Shay_Given

Rohan Ricketts - @rohanricketts

NUFC tweets - @toontweet

Jacqui Oatley (MOTD commentator) - @JacquiOatley

 

Other Sport:

 

Andy Murray - @andy_murray

Lance Armstrong - @lancearmstrong

JP Montoya - @jpmontoya

Jake Humphrey (F1) - @jakehumphreyf1

5Live (F1) - @5livef1

Official Mcclaren (F1) - @thefifthdriver

Brawn Team (F1) - @officialbrawngp

James Allen (F1) - @jamesallenonf1

Sky Sports News - @SkySportsNews

Joe Rogan (Comedian/UFC) - @joerogandotnet

Mike Goldberg (UFC) - @MFG16

bbc sport updates - @bbcsport

Guardian cricket columnist Lawrence Booth - @the_spin

Shaquille O'Neal - @THE_REAL_SHAQ

Dwight Howard - @DwightHoward

Ron Artest - @96TruwarierQB

Steve Nash - @the_real_nash

Baron Davis - @Baron_Davis

Chris Bosh - @chrisbosh

UFC - @UFC

Annette Obrestad (poker) - @Annette_15

Doyle Brunson (poker) - @TexDolly

Phil Hellmuth (poker) - @phil_hellmuth

Daniel Negreanu (poker) - @RealKidPoker

Macho Man Randy Savage - @therealmachoman

Jonathan Agnew (cricket) - @aggerscricket

Rubens Barrichello - @rubarrichello

Chris Boardman (cycling) - @chris_boardman

Derek Fisher (B-Ball) - @derekfisher

Andy Roddick - @andyroddick

Ian James Poulter (Golf) - @ianjamespoulter

Laura Robson (tennis) - @laurarobson5

Nelson Piquet Jr (F1) - @NelsonPiquet_

Lee McKenzie, BBC F1 Pitlane reporter - @LeeMcK

The Miz, WWE Superstar - @mikethemiz

Chris Jericho, WWE Superstar - @IAmJericho

Jeff Hardy WWE Superstar - @JEFFHARDYBRAND

Matt Hardy WWE Superstar - @MATTHARDYBRAND

Eric Bischoff, former WWE + WCW @EBischoff

Jeremy Borash, TNA announcer - @JeremyBorash

David 'Bumble' Lloyd - @bumblecricket

James Haskell (rugby) - @jameshaskell

Dwayne Wade (NBA) - @dwadeofficial

Paul Casey (golf) - @Paul_Casey

Stewart Cink (golf) - @stewartcink

Chris DiMarco (golf) - @ChrisDiMarco

Natalie Gulbis (ladies golf) - @natalie_gulbis

Anna Rawson (ladies golf) - @TheAnnaRawson

Danica Patrick (Nascar) - @DanicaPatrick

Quinton 'Rampage' Jackson (UFC) - @Rampage4real

Mike Swick (UFC) - @officialswick

Kenny Florian (UFC) - @Kenny_Florian

Dana White (UFC president) - @danawhiteufc

Urijah Faber (MMA) - @urijahfaber

Geoffery Boycott - @GeoffreyBoycott

Jason Gillespie - @Jason_Gillespie

Jenson Button - @The_Real_JB

 

Pr0n:

 

@Ashlynn_Brooke / Ashlynn Brooke

@JenaveveJolie / Jenaveve Jolie

@OMGitsLexi / Lexi Belle

@misstoriblack / Tori Black

@SashaGrey / Sasha Grey

@jenxstudios / Jenna Haze

@moniquealexande / Monique Alexander

@KristinaRosexxx / Kristina Rose

@SunnyLeone / Sunny Leone

@thekatiemorgan / Katie Morgan

@MsTeagan / Teagan Presley

@gianna_lynn / Gianna Lynn

@BreeOlson9 / Bree Olson

@evaangelinaxxx / Eva angelina

@Ditavonteese / Dita Von Teese

Jenna Jameson - @jennajameson

Hanna Hilton - @TheHannaHilton

Catalina Cruz - @CatalinaCruz

 

Other:

 

Davina McCall - @ThisIsDavina

Astronomy Picture of the Day - @apod

Claudia Winkleman - @ClaudiaWinkle

Holly Willoughby - @hollywills

Jordan AKA Katie Price - @MissKatiePrice

Richard Branson - @richardbranson

Paris Hilton - @babygirlparis

Will Carling - @willcarling

Martha Lane Fox (founder of lastminute.com) - @marthalanefox

Michelle Dewberry (Apprentice winner) - @michelledewbs

O2 Ireland - @talk2o2

The Emergency (Ireland) - @theemergency

Claire Byrnes - @breakfastnt

George Hook - @ghook

Ben Fogle - @Benfogle

Bear Grylls - @BearGrylls

Viz's Top Tips - @viz_top_tips

Kat Von Dee - @thekatvond

Solent Rescue (lifeguard) - @solentrescue

Jamie Oliver - @jamie_oliver

Hugh Hefner - @hughhefner

Paul Smith (Fashion) - @PaulSmithDesign

Karl Lagerfeld - @Karl_Lagerfeld

Dynamo (Magician) - @Dynamomagician

David Blaine - @davidblaine

Tony Hawk - @tonyhawk

Kim Kardashian - @KimKardashian

Jenny McCarthy - @JennyfromMTV

Brooklyn Decker (Model/Andy Roddick's wife) - @BrooklynDDecker

Amanda Holden - @Amanda_Holden

Sophie Howard (model) - @Sophie_A_Howard

Daily Top Tips - @viz_top_tips

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Any good/interesting people/celebs to follow?

 

Created my account today and basically spent all evening signing up to updates from either sports stars, poker players or porn stars.

 

Football related:

 

The Football Ramble - @FootballRamble

Football Trivia - @askthegaffer

Sky Sports News - @SkySportsNews

bbc sport updates - @bbcsport

Henry Winter, Telegraph football journo - @henrywinter

Shay Given - @Shay_Given

Rohan Ricketts - @rohanricketts

NUFC tweets - @toontweet

Jacqui Oatley (MOTD commentator) - @JacquiOatley

NUSC - @nuscteam

 

ahem :munch:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

@shitmydadsays is pretty funny.

 

Pdiddy's stuff is boring me now; half the time he sounds like a motivational speaker "If you've been waiting for the right time to move forward, that time has arrived", the rest is just Jesus humping Bible crap "I'm calling GODS ARMY TO ATTENTION!! Let the devil know the fight he's in for!"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.