Ant

Guitars

I know a few of the lads on here are fairly into guitars etc

any of you recommend a decent "learn how to play" book for the total and utter beginner (but i can play hard on guitar hero so obviously I'm a pro in the making :rolleyes:)

Dad picked himself up a cheap electric and an acoustic with the same idea of learning, but never bloody uses the things, so I'm probably going to pinch one and have a go myself.

as little patience as I have i think it's one of those things i'll get frustrated enough to keep at untill i can play some radiohead or smashing pumpkins :finger:

Did the same about 3 years ago. Never really had a learning book etc... If you already spend a lot of time on the internet, then it will make it so much easier.

You have everything just a click away and for free. Youtube can become a goldmine for learning songs.

Also if you know people who play, then they can help you make huge leaps forwards by showing you technique tips.

Use the internet for lessons and stuff.

Try to round your playing off by learning different techniques.

Using three or four very simple techniques during a solo can make you look like a genius.

Also buy from a recognised brand - Epiphone, Squier and the like.

Don't get tempted by an ebay £70 bargain from China because I wouldn't touch them with yours.

I started on a 3rd hand piece of crap - an Encore for £40 - I went halves with my brother.

I then moved onto to an Epiphone Custom @ £410 and progressed rapidly, before buying that guitar I couldn't even play a song and for some mental reason (genius parenting) my Mam bought me the Epiphone,

now I'm a reasonably well read and advanced player,

you just have to give yourself the incentive and have fun, cheap lager and friends help.

Be enthusiastic about it, almost show off in front of your mates but don't be a cunt about it, just play something they want to hear and then you will get more confident and progress to better things.

How old are you by the way?