Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Rob W

Uefa announce Euro 2012 shortlist

Recommended Posts

Uefa announce Euro 2012 shortlist



Uefa have named a shortlist of three candidates to host the European Championship in 2012. Italy and joint bids from Croatia/Hungary and Poland/Ukraine made the final list, with the decision on the hosts to be made in December 2006.


European football's governing body rejected bids from Greece and Turkey.


Switzerland/Austria will host the 13th European Championship in 2008, an event which began back in 1960 and has had nine different winners. Greece were the surprise package of last year's tournament, beating hosts Portugal 1-0 to win their first major football championship.


The first European Championship was won by the USSR, while Germany lead the way with the most number of wins - three.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Germany have only won once, in 1996. The other two were by West Germany :D




I would say pedant but having been to both E & W there was no mistaking which was which

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

Recent tweets

Toontastic Facebook

Donate to Toontastic

Keeping the lights on since... well ages ago